Select Page

Cydemind “Breach” The Walls of Normality With Next Violin Prog Metal Single

Cydemind “Breach” The Walls of Normality With Next Violin Prog Metal Single

Montreal instrumental progressive metal band Cydemind is offering up its next single from their forthcoming album “The Descent” due out November 4th, 2022 to follow their 2017 debut album “Erosion”.

Says keyboardist Camille Delage:

“We’re thrilled to introduce Breach, our brand new single! It’s a high-energy song that we believe is going to be appreciated by many fans!”

This single comes just a month after Cydemind unveiledHoax’.

​Guitarist Kevin Paquet:

“While Hoax may have surprised prog fans, Breach is more in line with the classic sounds of prog metal (if there can ever be anything classic about prog!). It’s got hard riffs, a captivating chorus, and unleashed solo”

The song musters a lot of these classic prog elements reminiscent of Dream Theater and Symphony X.

Violinist Olivier Allard:

“Of course when you make prog music, it’s hard not to take inspiration from these bands,”“They have molded the genre into what it is now. But I believe that the contribution of both the violin and the grand piano gives Breach a distinctive, organic, Cydemindesque sound, dare we say!”

The accompanying music video shows the band in their own jam space situated near Montreal.

Drummer Alexandre Dagenais explains:

“We opted for something more straightforward in order to put the focus on the song and the playing. Our video editor, Joël Lalancette, did an outstanding job of matching the pace of the video with the song’s tempo and atmosphere. It’s dynamic and you can really understand what’s going on musically.”

The music video for “Breach” can be seen and heard right here:

Cydemind – Breach

You can purchase or stream “Breach” on every digital platform now along with sheet music for the song and album pre-order on their Bandcamp page:

Cydemind’s new album “The Descent” will be out on November 4th, 2022.

The album was mixed by Simon L’Espérance (Karcius) and mastered by Tony Lindgren (Fascination Street Studios). The cover art for the album was created by Alexander Dagenais.

“The Descent” Track Listing:
1. Obsessions – 8:56
2. Hoax – 6:11
3. Breach – 5:00
4. Call Of The Void – 8:25
5. Hemlock -13:44
6. Slumber – 4:30
7. The Last Stone – 12:17
Album Length: 59:06

Cydemind is:
Olivier Allard (Violins)
Alexandre Dagenais (Drums)
Camille Delage (Keyboards/Piano)
Nico Damoulianos (Bass)
Kevin Paquet (Guitars)



About the Author


Co-Founder of The Progspace - Dario discovered the world of Prog upon hearing "Shine on you crazy diamond" for the first time at the tender age of 12 around the turn of the millennium. Coming from a musical family and brought up with classical music, this seemed to be the logical next step. Attended the school of from 2002, delving into both directions: catching up with the history of already more than 30 years of progressive music as well as always staying up to date with the newest prog sounds. He loves meeting like-minded people and enjoying live music at a concert somewhere in Europe.

What’s Hot?! – Our latest Weekly Playlist

Releases of the Week – Spotify Playlist

A lot of news happen on Facebook: FOLLOW US!

Progtalks by The Progspace

Listen to our newest episode right here!

Progtalks by the Progspace
Or tune in on your favorite podcast app!

About us

ico-2 We’re a group of Prog-lovers who started a journey to share with you our thoughts about albums, concerts, tours and festivals, the photo galleries of the Prog concerts we visit, as well interviews with upcoming or established musicians or prog-related people. Follow our Facebook page for frequent updates and news around the Progniverse.

Read more…